Stopping the darn akonadi server…

Hi Folks!

I have noticed that akonadi (even tho the indexing was off in KDE Control Center) was creating big .db files in my ~/.local/share/akonadi/ folder.

It’s annoying. I don’t use it. I don’t want to waste the HDD space so I googled.

I have found out about command that checks the akonadi server status:

akonadictl status

and I used it here.

[andrzejl@wishmasbell ~]$ akonadictl status
Akonadi Control: running
Akonadi Server: running
Akonadi Server Search Support: not available
[andrzejl@wishmasbell ~]$

Arggggggggghh… How to stop the dang server?

Open this file.

/home/username/.config/akonadi/akonadiserverrc

in Your favorite text editor and change value of the

StartServer=

line to false. So it looks like this.

StartServer=false

Save the file. Log out and then back in or just reboot and test the akonadictl status again

[andrzejl@wishmasbell ~]$ akonadictl status
Akonadi Control: stopped
Akonadi Server: stopped
Akonadi Server Search Support: not available
[andrzejl@wishmasbell ~]$

HECK YEAH! Now You can open this folder ~/.local/share/ and then find and remove akonadi folder inside it.

Space saved. Ram saved. CPU saved. Triple win…

Since I turned it off I don’t see any negative stuff happening here…

Regards.

Andy

